Biscuiterie Lou Cocal
Biscuiterie Lou Cocal

Dénoisillage before...énoisage nowadays

« Dénoisillage » has always been in the heart of a popoular tradition. Close to the chimney, long-lasting evenings to break walnuts and to extract unripe walnuts, songs and proverbs cherished the collective memory of the Périgord region.

"Nothing is lost in the walnut of the Périgord region, unless its noise when breaking"

This activity establishes an inherited economy: énoisage.
It was developped in the Sarlat region and became a true source of wages for all the family. We remember the women who shelled sat down at the front door, a flat stone on their knees: they put a harsh poking with the mallet in order to break the shell and to extract by hand the unripe walnut, not to damage it.

In the Périgord region, we still shell nuts like in the past. This ancestral gesture to separate unripe walnut and shell has lived through centuries. It contributes to the quality of the unripe walnut of Périgord that stays the strength of the Périgord production.

 

Click below to have more information on the walnut, its history, its benefits...

1 - The walnut in the Périgord region

2 - The walnut and health

1 - Walnut : 17 000 years of history

Enoisage

SARL Lou Cocal - Biscuiterie Artisanale - Le Roc Laumier - 24200 Sarlat - Tel : 05.53.31.21.05 Fax : 05.53.59.53.34 - Contact Mail

Biscuiterie Lou Cocal
Biscuiterie Lou Cocal

Dénoisillage autrefois... Enoisage de nos jours

Le dénoisillage a toujours été au coeur de la tradition populaire. Près du cantou, les longues veillées passées à casser les noix et extraire les cerneaux, ponctuées de chants et proverbes ont nourri la mémoire collective du Périgord.

"Rien n'est perdu dans la Noix du Périgord sauf le bruit qu'elle fait en se cassant"

Cette activité instaura une économie à caractère familial : l'énoisage.
C'est dans la région de Sarlat qu'il a pris son essor et devint une véritable source de revenu pour la famille. Nostalgie des énoiseuses assises sur le pas de la porte, une pierre plate posée sur les genoux, la "tricotte" à la main : un coup sec du maillet pour casser la coquille puis l'extraction du cerneau, à la main, délicatement pour ne pas l'abîmer.

En Périgord on énoise toujours comme autrefois. Ce geste ancestral pour séparer cerneau et coquille a traversé les siècles. Il contribue à ce que la qualité du cerneau de Noix du Périgord reste le fleuron de la production périgourdine.

 

En savoir plus sur la noix, son histoire et ses bienfaits...

1 - La noix en Périgord

2 - La noix et la santé

3 - La noix - 17 000 ans d'histoire

Enoisage

SARL Lou Cocal - Biscuiterie Artisanale - Le Roc Laumier - 24200 Sarlat - Tel : 05.53.31.21.05 Fax : 05.53.59.53.34 - Contact Mail